Responsive Image

In 1997, eight developing Islamic countries, including Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan, and Turkey established the D-8 Organization for Economic Cooperation. This organization, also known as D-8 for short, was established with the goal of promoting the status of member states in world economy, improving commercial relations among the countries, promoting their role in international decision making, and enhancing living standards.
In line with the goals of the organization, reinforcing cooperation in the field of science and technology was taken into account by D-8 member states with the aim of institutionalizing scientific cooperation among member states. To fulfill the cooperation goals in the field of science and technology, establishment of D-8 international University was agreed upon by member states. After taking some steps, this University was established in the city of Hamedan, hosted by Bu-Ali Sina University, with the aim of developing scientific exchanges and academic cooperation among the member states.
The statute of the University was adopted in meeting 901 of the Higher Education Expansion Council on 22 October 2017. Furthermore, in the second Focal Points Meeting and the first meeting of the University's Board of Trustees, held on 29-30 April 2019 hosted by Ministry of Science, Research and Technology, in addition to the final adoption of the statute and rules of procedure of D-8 University, the basic documents of the University were adopted. After the adoption of the statue and other legal documents, D-8 University was authorized to admit students.